::Everyday Food:: / Krua (Pantry) / Uncategorized

Easy banana & pumpkin yeast bread

Recipe adapted from http://redstaryeast.com/banana-bread/

Oh twenties, the age of new generation and confusion, a transitioning between can and cannot be.

The idea of baking especially bread, which I loved in sometime ago has stayed in the back of my mind. The idea of return into baking again just there, but I don’t feel the need, the importance of it.

Just like the way I do things – I’ve never actually taken sometime to look back at what I’ve done. Like I just let it go. And I don’t think about them, which is good in a case of letting go but not really a case for recalling some good things too.

So the past weeks, I’ve been inspired by so many events in my life, I have a chance to say to shout what I think, meet up with some new people, being happy with the supportive people that I’ve known, and sort of learning to embrace the love at the present.

I also have read this inspiring book ‘ The Little Book of HYGGE’. I’d really say it has sparked me with some insights of joyful moments I felt when I am home, or the environment that makes me feel at ease. Brought me to go and caught to things that I used to do and loved and moved me to do them over and over again. I know this narrative got a bit way off more than bread. But just thinking of kneading the dough, by reading that book. I just know I have to do it. I have to bake a bread.

C8O8nbCUwAAXFe2 (1)

Most coziest book I’ve ever read. Totally recommend.

My mom got a steamed pumpkin on the stove, I also had bunch of bananas from my dad. So I was intrigued by this idea of making a dough with pumpkin or mashed bananas. But not like cakey version. I want to knead. I want a yeast bread dough.

So I googled up a lot of recipes and I found this http://redstaryeast.com/banana-bread/ It is actually banana bread recipe. And yes it called for bananas. But I have divided the banana part into two, one for pumpkin and another one for banana itself.

IMG_3448

My version is medium loaf.

Recipe

  • 1 Tbsp water
  • 3 Tbsp oil
  • 3 Tbsp honey
  • ¾ tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups bread flour
  • 2/3 cup whole wheat flour ( I use oat flour by pulverized rolled oats)
  • 1/3  cup banana, mashed
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2¼ tsp instant yeast/ active dry yeast

Note: you can use 2/3 cup of mushy stuff you want, the actual recipe calls for mashed banana.

  • Prepare dry ingredients, by put 1 cup of bread flour, yeast and salt – mix well
  • For wet ingredients, put oil and warm water together then pour into dry ingredients. Mix and put other wet ingredients in the mixture – egg, honey, vanilla extract, lastly mashed pumpkin and banana – combine the wet and dry ingredients
  • Begin to add wholewheat flour slowly, mix well. Knead on the slightly floured surface – until firm and smooth
  • Place the dough on the slightly greased bowl and cover with a wrap or towel. Let rise for around 45min-1hr or double in size. (don’t forget to place the top/bottom of dough in the bowl to prevent dryness)
  • Check that the dough, then rolled out the dough once again on the surface by bread roller to flat wide rectangle shape, with the width of your bread pan

IMG_3597

  • Roll the dough and pinch the end to seal
IMG_3466

After rolling, pinch the end of both sides to seal then place in bread pan

  • Put the dough in the lightly greased pan. Cover and let the bread proof for the second time, for me it takes around 30-45 min

IMG_3476

IMG_3492

After the second rise, with a light sprinkle of oat flour, no egg wash (cuz I’m lazy)

  • Bake at the preheated oven at 190°C (375°F) for 20-25 min
  • Check if the color looks good and, remove from the oven.
IMG_3495

Sugar how you browned SO fine.

So – Final thought?

Okay, for an indecisive person like me. Or a person who decides to take it all like me. This bread, a mix of two ingredients. Pumpkin gives the vibrant color, banana gives the flavor, overall it had more side sweetness and less of the salty bit. So I might consider to increase salt next time for the balance, maybe I got it too little this time.

And the banana is not the extreme banana flavour you’d expect because of the pumpkin is rather plain. I mean, if you want to have a full scale of taste, I suggest you to go for the full recipe where banana is called for 100%. So the taste is like… not reaching to the ummmm level of yumminess and the perfect match of Nutella paste.

Anyway the texture is lovely. I am happy with the result of using so many substitution. Like, oat flour. It’s a bit heavy on the side. Not Extreme fluff, but still fluff as you can see the air bubbles in the final result. Overall, I still consider to bake this again, but maybe like with bananas only, or who knows, try to make another experiment with popular veggie for bakery like carrot as well.

Leave a Reply

